Logo_NVDems-refreshgold 22-02

NV Dems Statement: Ford, Frierson Elected to Lead Nevada Legislature in 2017

Las Vegas, NV Today, Nevada State Democratic Party Chair Roberta Lange released the following statement on Senator Aaron D. Ford being elected State Senate Majority Leader and Assemblyman Jason Frierson being elected to serve as Assembly Speaker:

“On Tuesday night, Nevadans repudiated an extreme Republican agenda and put Democrats back in charge for the next legislative session to improve education and create opportunity for our state’s working families. In an election where Nevada elected a remarkable ticket of diverse candidates, it’s inspiring and historic that both chambers of our legislature will now be led by African Americans. Senator Ford and Assemblyman Frierson will be thoughtful and capable leaders for our caucuses and forceful advocates for our Democratic priorities in Carson City.”